Home Site Map

International Peace Academy
Academy momdiale pour la paix - Academia Internacional de la Paz

President Emeritus: Indar Jit Rikhye, 777 UN Plaza, NYC - NY 10017 (USA); or Contact: Palais de Marbre, 9 Ave de Fabron, F-62000 Nice, France

Founded: 1970, as a tax exempt, not-for-profit educational foundation. First set up in the state of Minnesota (USA); further developed through preliminary studies and planning conferences in Oslo, London and Brattleboro Vermont (USA). Now the academy is wholly transnational in its board of directors, programme, staff, administration and publications.

Aims: Further the practical skills and procedures for dispute settlement and conflict management, emphasizing peace keeping, third party observation, mediation and negotiation.  

Structure: Board of Directors, President, Vice President, International Advisory Board.     

Languages: English, French, Spanish.

Finance: Tuition fees of governments; foundation and corporate grants; contributions from individuals.

Consultative Status: ECOSOC (#EE3377) (Ros); United Nations Institute for Training and Research (#EE3387).

Activities: Designs and conducts professional international training seminars for diplomats, military officers, academicians, and policy makers, on the subjects of peacekeeping, mediation and negotiation. Conducts action-research by arranging off-the-record meetings of parties involved in disputes. Peacekeepers Round Table (meets 6 times a year) consists of military advisors, representatives of United Nations troops, contributing countries and members of UN Secretariat.

Task force on technology (set up in 1979) consists of representatives of industry, international and regional organization, diplomats and military officers. Produces publications and teaching materials of practical use for professionals in government and teachers at institutes of higher education.

Publications: Coping with Conflict (twice a year). Peacekeeper's Handbook. Books & reports.

Members: National Committees; Individuals. Members in 129 countries: Africa - Algeria, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Central African Republic, Chad, Congo, Cote d'Ivore, Egypt, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Libyan AJ, Malawi, Mauritius, Morocco, Mozambique, Nigeria, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, Sudan, Swaziland, Tanzania, UR, Togo, Tunisia, Uganda, Zaire, Zambia, Zimbabwe. Americas - Argentina, Barbados, Bolivia, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Columbia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Haiti, Honduras, Jamaica, Mexico, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, St. Vincent-Grenadines, Surinam, Trinidad-Tobago, USA, Uruguay, Venezuela. Asia - Afghanistan, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Brunei Darussalam, China, India, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Japan, Jordan, Kampuchea Dem., Korea, Kuwait, Lao PDR, Lebanon, Malaysia, Nepal, Oman, Pakistan, Philippines, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, Sri Lanka, Syrian AR, Thailand, United Arab Emirates, Vietnam, Yemen.. Australia: Fiji, Kiribati, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea. Europe - Austria, Belgium, Cyprus, Czechoslovakia, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Rumania, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom, USSR, Yugoslavia.

Note:  Use the "back" key in your browser to return to prior text
Click Top
 to return to the beginning of this page.